The Screwtape Letters: A guide to what NOT to do.

The Screwtape letters was a very interesting read. It’s by far one of the most ingenious books I’ve ever read.

The Screwtape Letters is a collection of fictional ‘letters’ written by a demon named Screwtape to his nephew, Wormwood, who is an inexperienced tempter. It is mostly instructional, telling Wormwood how best to tempt his ‘patient’ (The human he’s assigned to) away from God.

Of course, he wouldn’t have to give so much advice if Wormwood wasn’t such a blundering idiot. He manages to mess up royally time and time again through bad circumstance or pure surplus of ignorance.

It was quite an experience to read about Christianity and all that comes with it from the demon point of view. It taught me a lot about how they think, how they lead people astray. I definitely recognized ways that they slip me up a bunch, especially in areas of anger.

I never thought that I’d see so many of my mistakes pointed out by the demon. Oh, if only Screwtape were real – he would be hopping mad that his words were actually a help to Christians! It’s a fantastic work that can do this from the demonic side.

Another thing I find quite interesting about it is that it never shows what Wormwood has said, except by way of Screwtape replying to what he had said in a previous letter. It makes me wonder exactly what kind of a person – well, demon – Wormwood was, how he talked, etc. If C. S. Lewis were still alive, I might very well demand a sequel, the Lost Letters of Wormwood!

All in all, it was one of the most brilliant Christian apologetic works I’ve ever read. I would definitely read this again at a later date, and recommend it to others that might enjoy it, as well.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment